Overwatch Anniversary Event!

Hey there!

And welcome back to Wooly Plays! Sorry for the delay in posts recently; I’ll be honest, I’ve been playing too much Overwatch to actually write my blog posts.

RIP.

Rather than doing a ‘Hero of the Week’ post for today, we’re going to talk about the first anniversary of Overwatch.

A Quick Note:

No matter what the first anniversary of Overwatch brings, I can safely say that this game has changed my life for the better. I’ve made a ton of great friends and met my amazing boyfriend while playing this game, and I couldn’t imagine what I’d be doing if my brother hadn’t asked me to try out Overwatch‘s open beta.

On May 24th, the game’s first anniversary will be here! There have been some leaks about what might be happening for the anniversary, and I’m trying my best not to get too excited about them.

Remember, kids, you can’t believe everything you read on the internet!

Will there even be an anniversary event?

The Overwatch twitter account confirmed on Wednesday, May 10th that there would definitely be an anniversary event, although the timing of the event is still a mystery.

Tweetz

Fortunately, the timing details have arrived!

The Overwatch team has announced that there will be an anniversary event starting on Tuesday, May 23rd and ending on Monday, June 12th. Check out the Youtube video here!

What will the event be?

Honestly, I’m not sure, but if it’s anything like what the Overwatch team has been cooking up since release, I know that it will be absolutely amazing. Unfortunately there aren’t many details about the event itself, but there is plenty of “datamined” information out there to see, as well as more and more hints from the devs!

New Game Mode!

With the event, Overwatch will be introducing an Arena mode that includes three new maps! They look like they’re connected to Dorado, Eichenwalde, and the Temple of Anubis. I, for one, am super excited to see them on live servers!

Check them out right here!

What on earth is Arena Mode?

That’s a great question. At first I thought it would be a free-for-all type of event; however, the Your Overwatch channel on Youtube released this video explaining their thoughts on what the Arena mode could be like, and I’ll admit that this makes a lot more sense than what I’d previously thought. Check out that video here.

Side note: DANCE EMOTES!!! I’m also hoping that they give us sitting and laughing emotes for Sombra and Orisa, since neither of them got those emotes with their release.

Will Doomfist be released?

Overwatch 05.18.2017 - 15.49.43.01

I don’t know. The Overwatch team had said (before Orisa came out) that Doomfist was not going to be the 23rd character released; however, that doesn’t mean he (or she) couldn’t be the 24th!

I’m not sure if any new hero will come out with the event, but never say never! The Overwatch team is working very hard on this new event and game mode. So while it’s not completely impossible, I’m not going to put all of my eggs in that basket.

H Y P E.

That’s all I’ve got for right now! Definitely watch some more of Your Overwatch’s videos if you want to get deeper into the hype train than this, and, as always, let me know what your thoughts are in the comments below.

~ Wooly

Leave a Reply

